Dog Cat Door Reviews

Dog Door and Cat Door Reviews

We get lots of emails from happy customers. Many have tried other pet doors and are relieved to have found one that actually lives up to its promises. Some of our customers have written to share their top-notch customizations. Others just want to show us pictures of their pets enjoying their new-found freedom. We love them all! Please keep them coming!

Avatar
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
September 15, 2016

Best Customer Service

I had a Freedom Pet Pass door installed in our last house in the door, but when we moved to a new house we decided to place one in the wall instead. We hired a handyman who recommended a different brand door.

It was a disaster. The other brand had a tunnel that looked cheap and when the wind blew the flap would fly open.

We decided to go to the trouble to replace the door with a freedom pet pass wall mount door! What a great decision. It is such a high-quality product that will last for years and years and will not blow open in the wind. The customer service was great throughout the entire process. A real person will answer your phone call! Thanks again.

Tracey Knowles
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Door Mount
September 14, 2016

The Draught is Gone!

When the door was fitted, the draughts disappeared which was amazing.  However, the cats would not use the door.  I have 4 cats, all Siamese and Orientals.  They're an intelligent breed, so I wrongly assumed they'd be fine with the new door.  The 2 boys grasped it first, not because their intelligence is higher, lol, but they're taller/leggier so it was easier for them, plus they're bigger built than the girls and this new flap takes a bit of pressure to open in comparison to the useless cat door that was there before.
In total it took 2 weeks to train all 4 of them to use the door.  It was necessary to tie up the outer door for about 3 days, and towards the end I think they were having me on, playing at being helpless! The door has exceeded my expectations in terms of draught control and now the cats are using it just fine, everyone's happy.
The door you supplied is going to make such a difference to the temperature in my kitchen during the colder months.  I'm convinced my heating bills will be much less because of the airtight seal on your door.
The construction of the Freedom Pet Pass cat door is excellent; it's extremely robust and aesthetically very pleasing.
Tracey Knowles
Birmingham, UK
Christie Dennis
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Door Mount
Door Type:
Wall Mount
September 9, 2016

Very happy

Just want to say how great the dog doors are, I have a wall mounted one as well as the door mounted one and am super pleased with the construction and performance. We had performance testing done on our house (blower door, etc) and the IR imaging done as the blower door was running showed no leakage from the dog door - very impressive under 50 Pa depressurization.

Attached is a recent pic of the dogs...they are not near a dog door though!

dogs

Major Brandon LaValley
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Door Mount
September 7, 2016

Customer service like this just doesn't exist today

Can't speak highly enough about these doors...I've got two and wouldn't be without. My oldest door has been exposed to the harshest South Texas weather for almost 5 years. It's never blown open and still looks brand new. They are a bit pricy but worth every penny - I'll never look for another brand dog door and that's assuming I ever need another one.

I've had two interactions with Freedom Pet Pass customer service, and they've both been great. Just recently, I lost my locking pin during our latest move... one of the perils of having a bunch of helpers pack the house. The folks at Freedom Pet Pass sent me another one at no charge. I also spoke to a representative several years ago when I thought the door was broken, and they took good care of me then too teaching me about the friction hold vs selling me a new flap I didn't need.

I can't speak highly enough about the door, the quality, or the customer service. Love our door and tell everyone about it. I'm an Air Force pilot and we have guys moving through all the time. I think I'm responsible for selling about 15 doors.

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
June 29, 2016

Great performance!

It is a wonderful replacement for the 30 year old existing pet door!
My handyman was quite impressed! Performance is excellent!
Thanks so much for producing a quality product and being so helpful through the process!
Sandy

Amazon Customer
Door Type:
Door Mount
June 15, 2016

Great Dog Door!

Have had the door 6 months now and still closes like it was new.

Adam H.
Door Type:
Door Mount
May 19, 2016

Best Quality Dog Door AVailable

Recently moved from a very warm climate to a much cooler climate. Needed to custom order a new back door and have a doggy door installed. No way I was going to go on the cheap. Bought this one direct from the manufacture and had it installed by a local door and window installation company. The door is fantastic! Very energy efficient. No air gaps, flap seals tight and is very durable. It looks a bit "industrial", but only because it is so solidly made. There are only two "gotchas" I can think of with this door. First, one of our dogs is quite small (an 8lb Yorkie) so I decided to go for the small door to accommodate him. It took him about a week to start going in and out himself because the door was a bit heavy for him to open. What ended up helping was putting a mat at the bottom of the door on both sides so he could get proper traction for pushing through. The other gotcha is that the door seals so well, that it is pretty loud when our dogs use it. It pretty much "slams" shut, so take this into account when you consider the placement. You won't want it near a bedroom, for example. But as far as what it is, this is the best possible quality dog door available. The extra money is well worth it, especially in places that have a cool climate.

Darren Martin
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
May 17, 2016

We LOVE our Freedom Pet Pass!

I was a little hesitant to purchase the Freedom Pet Pass because the installation was a bit beyond my handyman skills. We had a contractor friend do the installation and we couldn't be happier! Our sweet Mini Aussie Shepherd has figured out the door in a few days' time and is no longer trapped in the house until our daughter gets home from school.

The door's build quality is top notch and I'm super impressed with the ingenious magnetic seal all the way around the door. We've had some very windy days this spring and the door is simply airtight. I'm very happy we went with your product, thank you!

Darren & Kristy Martin (& Maddie!)

 

Email 2:

I have finally finished trimming out our dog door and it looks awesome! Attached are some pictures of our dog Maddie and your wonderful door. If she could speak I'm sure she would thank us for giving her the freedom to go outside whenever she wants or needs.

Again I have to compliment you on the build quality and materials you used to make this door. It closes quite solidly and is impressively airtight. After researching other doors and viewing videos of them in use, your door is obviously superior in both design and construction.

Maddie door 1 Maddie door 2 Maddie door 3 Maddie door 4

 

 

 

Glenda Wagner
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
April 15, 2016

Great Door!

Installed today and my doggy loves her new freedom! Contractor was happy with the results and I am too! We were able to install where I wanted it to be which was a win win situation, and not have to build an external ramp for her outside. My daughter and her husband have this same door in their house so I knew that we would be pleased with your product. Thank you, Glenda & Lilly?

Kathy Q.
Door Type:
Wall Mount
April 13, 2016

Five Stars

It works well for Mr pooch.

Erica Skene
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
April 9, 2016

Worth the money

I ordered this door about 6 months ago. The price scared me a bit but it's the best money I've ever spent. Well worth every penny. Great product!!! Wanted to pass that along...

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Door Mount
April 1, 2016

Brilliant

I would like to thank you for the dog door which we received a while back, as you suggested we needed to add an additional strip to pack it out slightly due to the door's thickness (30mm) which is the standard panel for a UPVC door panel.

The dogs have taken to using it very well, I didn't think they would as the old one was a clear plastic panel which they could see through and the magnets were failing so there was no effort involved in getting in and out. I had my reservations as to how they would adapt but it only took 2 days. One dog would go out but wouldn't come back in!!

Thank you again for a brilliant product, the house is so much warmer and to my surprise a lot quieter too.

Tracy
Cumbria, England

Cathy Hall
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Door Mount
March 29, 2016

Dog Door

The dog door is in the new door and the door is painted.  All looks great.  The guy that put in the dog door said it was one of the best made that he has put in.  He really liked it.  Our Irish Setter is getting used to using it.  She goes out really well but coming in is a little difficult I think since she cannot see inside.  But we will keep working with her and Im sure she will get it soon

Stephen Drinkard
Door Type:
Wall Mount
March 29, 2016

the company is easy to work with

This is a doggie door that is unsurpassed by any other brand. I have owned two other dog doors by two different companies, the kinds that are sold in chain pet stores or the big box stores. Both leaked air from day one (or at least within a few weeks). Yes, this is expensive comparatively but if you live in colder climes, you have to keep down on loss of warm air. This door does not lose warm air (other than by convection similar to windows and walls).

I suppose if you live in a very warm climate, this door might not save you that much energy costs. But, it is more than a energy saver.

It's well made, the company is easy to work with. (They recently addressed an issue I had because we have two large dogs that rush almost simultaneously out the door, wreaking a bit of a strain on the sealing flap. The company has come up with a solution.)

Stephen Drinkard

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Door Mount
February 13, 2016

Dog Door Review

We purchased the door for our beagle.  We installed it into a window.  It took some coaching to get her use to it. But now, she goes in and out with ease.  During storm Jonah (Jan 2016) we got about 30 inches of snow but none came into the house. We also have had winds of about 20 mph and the flap stays secured. Great door and I'm very pleased.

Jasmine
Door Type:
Door Mount
November 23, 2015

It's awesome! Money well spent!

It's awesome! Money well spent! Our Golden Retriever took right to it. It always closes just fine, hoping it will stay that way for many years to come!

Andrei C. Zamfir
Door Type:
Door Mount
November 21, 2015

Waste of money, does not work as advertised.

Absolute garbage. Would have given 0 stars if there was an option. Bought this 3 mo ago as an upgrade from and IdealPet door. The house has a large porch and it is in the Arizona desert. We get storms during the summer and the winds can be strong but nothing like a tornado or a hurricane. The flap on the door does not stay shut as advertised but rather blows right open. Moreover, the quality of the materials used on this door is pure garbage. The concept is good and it is made in the US but it's not made right. For the money, this is unacceptable. To top it off, it is very ugly. Mercedes price and 80's Hyundai quality. The company's customer service is a joke. They are arrogant and do not go the extra mile to cater to the customer. Replacement parts for the door are very expensive and they do not last. We have 4 dogs, the door already looks like it's been there years and not just a few months. Will replace the back door to the house this pretend dog door was installed into and revert back to the IdealPet door. Please do not waste your money on this product.

Freedom Pet Pass Response: Mr. Zamfir contacted us, informing us that his dog had chewed / pulled his door apart. While damage due to destructive pet behavior is not covered by our warranty, we still issued him a coupon code for the relevant replacement part and gave him some tips for curbing that bad behavior. He redeemed the code, but never contacted us again except to leave this negative review.

HiFi Guy
Door Type:
Door Mount
November 6, 2015

Best Pet Door Period. Nothing else even comes close. End of Conversation.

Buy this pet door and you will not regret it. Prior to getting this pet door, we went to the big box pet store and purchased a Pet Safe Brand doggy door. We had several of the years because there's was always one thing or another breaking off coming loose and the dogs would chew the flaps as well. We replaced the flaps at least 5-6 times a year. At $25 a pop that adds up quick. Not to mention that these are so cheaply made even when performing correctly you still get drafts and lose tons of energy. This energy efficient pet door should be the first and last place you look. Don't think your saving money by buying the cheap one. You'll end up paying much much more in replacement costs and lost energy in your home. Yes it's a little expensive, but it's worth it. Seriously one of the best purchases we've ever made. Do yourself a favor and learn from our mistakes and do it right the first time with this amazing pet door.

SS
Door Type:
Door Mount
October 14, 2015

I live in Alaska and it's been the best severe-weather dog door I've found

My dog hasn't gotten the hang of using on her own yet, but we're working on it. I live in Alaska and it's been the best sever-weather dog door I've found. With magnetic contact on 3-sides I can't imagine this door not sealing properly. Installation was easy and the secure locking door panel is a nice feature. It was more than I wanted to spend but I'm happy with the quality. My previous dog doors didn't close when the weather dropped below 0 because the plastic would stiffen and the magnets wouldn't catch. This thick canvas door and the magnet placement design solves that problem.

Dar Issac
Door Type:
Wall Mount
October 13, 2015

Amazing, installation was kinda easy

Amazing, installation was kinda easy. A bit of work but compared to old doggy door wow no cold, no wind no dust. Highly recommended

R. Johnson
Door Type:
Door Mount
October 5, 2015

Best dog door out there!

Holds up really well! No drafts make it past this door, even in the 30 degree below zero winter nights at 10,000 feet in the Colorado Rockies! Get it!

Wendy Matthews
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Door Mount
October 4, 2015

Praise for the door!

I have had the Pet Pass door for nearly 2 years and I couldn't be happier with it!  It is truly air tight.  It doesn't let in icy cold winter air OR blasting hot summer heat in Kansas.  My big dog uses it many times a day, yet it is still in very good shape after all this time.  I'm thrilled with my decision to buy this door!  Thank you so much for making a product that truly fulfills the promises!

Meowmix
Door Type:
Door Mount
October 1, 2015

Well worth the price

Well worth the price. Really helps save on energy bills by significantly reducing the air leakage. Biggest size is great for my full size malate (85lbs)

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
July 22, 2015

Our wonderful dog door

We received our dog door sooner than anticipated.  My husband got it installed quickly and easily and trimmed it out so beautifully we refer to it as "Colby's Entrance." There is no longer a hot wind heating up the house and the air conditioner can hold a temperature of 76 degrees - something that has been impossible previously. The amount of leaf litter and insect life coming in has halted.  We are sleeping better as the door is such a tight seal the street noise is gone.  We only wish we had found this years ago.  It is the first thing we show our visitors!  Thank you so much- Robin &Robert

Anna Schwartz
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Door Mount
May 1, 2015

Amazing!

Hey you dogs - You made the most amazing dog door. It's been installed in my kitchen door for about 3-months now and never blows open in the wind. I live in an extremely windy area outside of Flagstaff AZ and it has passed (stayed closed) through 50mph winds! House may creak in the wind by the dog door stays securely shut. Thank you for making the most amazing and functional door. All 12-paws are very happy!
a
R. Stevens
Door Type:
Door Mount
April 29, 2015

Five Stars

Great dog door. Seals completely.

J. Olin
Door Type:
Door Mount
March 16, 2015

Worth EVERY penny

Best Pet Door EVER. I bought this door in the summer and wanted to wait until winter was upon us to write an accurate review. We live in Upstate NY and to say this winter has been bitterly cold is an understatement. 24 of the 28 days in February were below freezing (most days being in the single digits) and very windy and snowy as well. To say this door performed as described is an understatement. During all of the storms we endured, this door never moved once unless one of the dogs was going thru it. Not even a little bit. We have 2 labs and a small terrier and it's not a problem for any of them to navigate through the flap. Wish I had invested in this door years ago. Worth every penny.

J. Lance
Door Type:
Door Mount
January 12, 2015

An Excellent Dog Door!

I bought this to replace another expensive dog door that had been in for over 15 years. I had built an addition and put that door in and for 15 years I had a drafty house. Figured, "that's it, that's just the way dog doors are," because I had spent so much money on that door, it had to be a good one, right? Well, it was a good for the first few years, but it always leaked air, even with occasional replacement parts installed. Anyway, after last winter which was a tough one here in Northern NYS, it was obvious the old door wasn't doing the job, so this winter I bought the Pet Pass door off of their website (free shipping that way) and installed it a week ago.

Wow. What a difference. The draft that I ALWAYS had felt was gone, just like that. It has really made a difference in comfort of the house.

I had a contractor install it since it was taller and wider than my old door, but it was an easy job for him.

The only problem with the door was the flap was slightly crooked (very slightly) and I had to trim one edge for it to work freely. I believe it came that way, but since the flap is replaceable, I figure if I wanted to I could have taken it apart to let it hang perfectly. But, hey, it was windy and snowing and I just wanted to start using the door! It wasn't a big deal, in any case, but it might be something to check on before you install yours just so you can make sure yours hangs correctly, or else be aware that something to do with the installation may have pinched something. I know mine was installed perfectly level, but I don't know if the contractor may have done something else that would cause this to happen.

It is a noisier door than the old one it replaces, but not enough to be a problem, and you do get used to different sounds in your house. Due to the design of this door, btw, you can tell by the sound whether your dog is going in or going out if you can't see the door where you are.

As to the dogs, I have two German Shepherds and a Yellow Lab and they all have had access to a dog door their entire lives and go in and out easily dozens of times a day. The year old GSD pup picked it up right away. He was using the new door before the installer even left. The 10 year old GSD was not far behind him, using it without problems in an hour or so. My Yellow Lab was the hold out, taking about three days before she was comfortable using it. She mainly didn't want to press that hard on the door to get out, since the old door would open easily (and could be seen through, as well). This shows how strong the seal is on the door. BTW, this new door is tall enough for my tallest GSD, if anyone is wondering on door size. Both GSDs of mine had always had to duck their backs to go through the old door. The top of the flap on this door is at 29" from the floor and it's a good height for this breed of dog. It's 3" taller than the old door and the old door rough opening dictated the bottom height of the door.

For those with small dogs, the instructions tell how to lessen the magnetic hold so it's easier for them to open the doors. They say that the door will still seal very well, however. If you have a mix of big dogs and small dogs or perhaps a cat, you might have to do it.

Frank Konhaus
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
December 11, 2014

Stairway to Kitty Heaven

So Jaco and Joni had been driving us crazy to go outside and we really are adamant that they can't be outdoor kitties because of the hawks and coyotes in the adjacent woods so we have taken to leaving them out on the screened porch which they love. We have talked for a while about figuring out a way to put a cat door out to the porch but the porch is directly adjacent to a solid wall of kitchen cabinets.

llen had the idea of cutting a hole in the back of one of the base cabinet drawers and then penetrating the stucco wall on the other side and just leaving the drawer open when we wanted them to have access to the porch but I was pretty dead set against cutting the stucco wall. We took to letting them go through the kitchen window by jumping up on the counter and then out to the chair storage unit but a) we were not wild about them being on the counter (particularly Ellen!) and b) when winter came we didn't want to leave the window open for them. I got to thinking about ways to get them passage to the porch and I hit upon the idea of coming through the ceiling. In an earlier post I detailed a cat spiral staircase project we did in the dining room that they love and spend alot of time on. A quick look at the architectural plans led to a location in our master bedroom closet that was precisely over the most logical spot for the cats to descend another spiral stair-simple enough in theory...

CatDoorStairwayProject28 CatDoorStairwayProject20Read more at Cassilhaus blog

MH
Door Type:
Door Mount
December 3, 2014

Awesome Door!!

Just installed my door and really works and seals out wind as promised! Installation took approx 1 Hr. I researched all the doors on the market and chose this one and i am very glad i did.

beagle1001
Door Type:
Door Mount
October 19, 2014

Energy efficient and tough as nails!

Moved to Nebraska in 2008. House had existing dog door in garage wall as well as door to garage and interior kitchen door. Each one was aluminum frame with dilapidated plastic flaps. It was basically winter INSIDE the house. I bought the small Freedom Pet Pass wall mount door for the garage wall because it was the only product I could find to fit in the existing hole. It has had five winters use with two rambunctious Westies who each want to be the first one out. Other than having to wash the flaps and frame I have not needed to do a thing to the door. It never freezes open in the winter and it faces the bitter winds we get off the Rockies. Nothing has ever come loose, frayed, sagged,or bagged. The locking panel drops into place and locks with a pin, quite secure. At the time I thought the price was staggering but it really was a smart investment. Am seriously considering replacing current dog door in garage door with Freedom Pet Pass.

Default Avatar75
Door Type:
Door Mount
October 8, 2014

Great Service!

Hello! The door was delivered in a timely manner and my neighbor, who is a handy-man, was able to install if for me in less than an hour! My beastie boyz love having their dog door back and the timing was perfect now that the weather is getting colder!

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
October 1, 2014

Amazing Dog Door

We (Dogs) love the pet pass wall door. We ordinarily just have two Cocker Spaniels that use the door until recently. Our Border Collie had a front leg amputated is temporally indoors. She has no problem using the door that is actually a little too small for her. Amazing that she can learn so fast to walk on three legs and maneuver the pet door. A good testament for the ease of use for your door. Very durable, and wind and weather proof!! After scanning the web for quality doors I found and chose your product. So happy I did!!! Thanks for your prompt service.

Default Avatar75
Door Type:
Wall Mount
September 26, 2014

Lucy loves her new door!!!

I painted the frame of the door to match the trim color of the house. There was a dog door in that wall before but it was damaged and the parts were not available to repair it. This door is much more weather tight.

Lucy loves her Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door

Roni Hansen
Door Type:
Wall Mount
August 8, 2014

High quality and sturdy construction with a good seal.

Although maybe a bit high in price, this product is what I expected. I ordered the large and mounted on the wall. If you plan on mounting yours on the wall, plan on spending $20-$50 on supplies to frame it in. All in all very satisfied with this purchase.

loren
Door Type:
Door Mount
August 6, 2014

could not be happier with this door

could not be happier with this door. rugged and energy efficient, Had to retrain my smaller dog to use it, but it works great and has made a huge difference in my house.

Finally “home”
Door Type:
Door Mount
June 26, 2014

as advertised - works GREAT, easy to install

Looks good, works great - snaps back in place every time. I put it through a metal door and though the cut in the door is not pretty, you can't see it as the cover plate conceals it. I anticipate this lasting a long time. My old pet safe door is in the wall and the bolts have slowly worn out the drywall holes and is loose from constant use. The kitty is still inspecting it and insists that I open it for her, but once she has the need to get out quick for some reason, I know she will push her little face against this big old door and realize it opens just as easily as her little kitty doors. I highly recommend it. I think it is worth the price. I haven't had any tornadoes come through, maybe someday I will blow at it with the shop-vac blower just to prove it stays shut, but I am sure it will.

Stephanie
Door Type:
Wall Mount
May 8, 2014

Wonderful Dog Door, No Complaints After Longest/Coldest Winter Ever

This is a fantastic dog door. It seals tightly and is extremely energy efficient. My dog learned to use it quickly, and is more energy efficient than opening an actual door for your dog.

The installation is not for novices. You will likely need to hire a contractor unless you are comfortable cutting through your wall and installing trim. I had to make cuts through our vinyl siding and learn how to install J channel around the door. I also had to install some blocking and build a tunnel though the wall. I then trimmed out the inside of the door to match the trim on other doors throughout the house. The installation ended up looking awesome and like it has always been a part of the house. I am extremely happy with this door and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to allow their pet the freedom to come and go as they please.

 

john d rice
Door Type:
Wall Mount
April 30, 2014

not ready to install

The door itself is very nice.That being said, it is not set up to install. I had to adapt it and construct the framing. This also meant putting the pet door in so that the cover was not usable. n adapter kit and hardware would improve this product greatly.

Freedom Pet Pass comment: One of the misconceptions that is rampant in the pet door industry is that it is acceptable to just punch a hole in the wall and throw in a pet door without proper framing. This is a very bad idea, even if that's what other manufacturers have in their instructions. Proper framing should be a part of any wall-mounted dog door installation, just as it is for windows, doors, and skylights. Regarding the security panel not being usable, Mr. Rice chose to install the pet door backwards for some reason (exterior side of pet door toward the interior of the house). This is not recommended or necessary. Consult our installation instruction videos for information for a code-compliant and energy-efficient door installation.

S. J. D.
Door Type:
Wall Mount
April 15, 2014

Ingenious design, Works perfectly, Superior to every pet door I've ever owned.

This is not the pet door that you are used to, it is far better. I purchased the wall mount unit and had to frame it in, cutting through cement board, tyvec, rewire an outlet to move the romex out of the way, and after all of that this was still worth every dollar.
I will say that the instructions are a bit lacking, so if you don't have experience with framing in a window/ door you may want to hire someone to install this for you.

Summary.

I've had 3 other pet doors. (all door mount)
** A dual flap with magnets at the bottom and felt brushes on either side.
** A single flap door with the same setup
** An electronic door with RFI collars (petsafe)
all three leaked, with the electronic one being the worst... that's a whole other review.

This door is airtight and well designed. The price may scare you off, but its worth every dollar. After installing the door this winter, the heat in my home ran less often and I have noticed a difference. like all pet doors, its a bit loud when it shuts, but in this case, that's the sound of savings.

PROS -
Seals tight, airtight
Dogs learn to use it almost immediately. just had to show them the new door and hold it open for them once.
The canvas panel is more attractive than clear plastic
included locking Panel

CONS -
***note**** none of the cons listed here address any of the functions of the door - they are all entirely process related
No installation template
Wall Mount Instructions aren't clear. There are actually contradictions between the online instructions (website) and the included paper instructions regarding the rough opening size. (editors note: Both written instructions and online videos have been vastly improved since this review)
A tunnel for the wall mount would be a nice option.

TL:DR: Best Pet door you can buy. Does not leak. Would absolutely buy another one. I recommend it to everyone.

Default Avatar75
Door Type:
Door Mount
April 7, 2014

Great Cat Door

Hi, I just had to write to say how immensely pleased we are by the cat door you sold to us. We are in an exposed position on the coast where we receive lots of south westerly winds accompanied by rain. I have fitted several different cat flaps in the past but most of them were expensive rubbish. Either the cats broke them or the wind and rain came in and soaked the floor. Now I have fitted your cat door my kitchen is warmer and my oak floor is no longer being damaged by rain. We are really impressed by your product. I would strongly recommend that you market your product in the U.K.

Morgan Shrimp
Door Type:
Door Mount
April 1, 2014

Love this dog door

We did the candle and leaf blower trick and it really works!! Great decision for us to upgrade and get this dog door! Thank you for making a great product. It's a little noisy when the dogs come through but, we're getting used to it and recognize that "snap back" noise is keeping the air conditioning in and the heat out so it's worth it!!

Simonne Sheridan
Door Type:
Door Mount
March 17, 2014

Does what it says on the tin

My Husband bought one of the small pet doors online in May 2013. The product is very good. It delivered in the air test with the assessor saying it does what it promises. The cats like it too

Amazon Customer
Door Type:
Door Mount
January 20, 2014

Worth the money!!

This dog door creates a tight seal that keeps the cold air out, just as advertised. Even during some crazy winds that would have had our old door flapping like crazy, this door didn't budge. Two cons: it's a bit noisy when it flaps shut and is a challenge for the cats to open, even when adjusted per instructions. Still totally worth it.

Kate Leese
Door Type:
Door Mount
January 1, 2014

Just awesome

The only place I had room for an in-door dog door was my kitchen in an open concept livingroom. I was warned by a ton of people that I shouldn't install a dog door because my whole main level would always be cold and drafty (I live in michigan). I searched forever for a door that would be energy efficient and not let cold air in and am so glad I found this! Almost a year later the door works great and still seals airtight. I think it's even less drafty than having to open an actual door to let my dog out! Great product, I will buy again

Default Avatar75
Door Type:
Door Mount
December 29, 2013

LOVE IT!

This is the ultimate pet door and worth every cent. It's never opened under high winds or let in any rain or snow. It`s super easy to install and looks good. It`s the only door that should be considered and it will be the last you`ll need to install. Great work, guys and thanks a bunch.

Olivia Lee
Door Type:
Wall Mount
December 28, 2013

Splendid for Fairbanks Winters!

Hi, I purchased a door earlier this year based on the hope that it would hold up to the harsh Fairbanks winters. So far we have seen temperatures drop to -47 degrees Fahrenheit and there's no draft! A little frost forms from my dogs going in and out, but it is just amazing! A severe wind storm took out some trees in our yard and blew open an attic hatch that was NAILED in, but the darn dog door didn't budge. Thank you for making such a great product!

here2Binformed
Door Type:
Door Mount
October 28, 2013

Better than expected.

I had installed a much cheaper dog door a few months ago and while impressed with the installation instructions, I was disappointed in the construction and materials used. It is still in use today and seems to work ok. Definitely not energy efficient but then it goes from the garage to the outside.

Needing a second (more enery efficient) door to go into the garage, I decided to give the Freedom Pet Pass a try. MUCH more expensive but definitely a better value with much heavier construction. This door does not 'flap in the wind' like the previous door (originally installed in the same door as the Freedom unit).

I was surpised as to how little packaging was involved. Basically the unit was wrapped in bubble wrap and put in a shipping box. More than adequate but not all that 'professional'. Written instructions were vague but the web site has a number of installation videos that are very good. One tool that would make installation much cleaner is a good file (as shown in the video). I did not have one but wish I would have.

*editor's note: our current packaging and instruction packet has improved significantly since the time this review was written*

One dog uses the door with no problem but a second dog is hesitant due to the weight of the flap. Slowly she is accepting it though.

If you need a good energy efficient unit go for this one. Will it hold up to hurricane force winds? Dont know but I would have bigger problems if that happens.

Dennis Deis
October 7, 2013

Worth every dollar!!!

This is a fantastic door for the dogs. Gives them their freedom and keeps the cold out. When we go away, the security door assures us the house is safe!

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
June 25, 2013

Dog door warmer than wall!

Just wanted to drop a note to say we LOVE our Freedom Pet Pass door - we installed it in June 2011 and it is still going strong. Absolutely love it. We've actually got a piece of foamboard insulation that we put in the opening at night instead of the locking door, which makes it warmer than the wall it's in. Go figure. Thank you so much and best regards.

aguenth
Door Type:
Door Mount
April 23, 2013

Buy this door

I've owned this door for 4 years and can say with confidence that buying it was the correct choice. When you look at the different designs out there it's really the only reasonable choice if you care about energy efficiency. They have that video with the fan on the manufacturers website and I would say that it is every bit as air tight as they advertise. I have a jack russell and a 90 pound pit/boxer mix and they both barrel through it at top speed several times a day. It is showing signs of wear after 4 years of this, but over all it's held up pretty well. I've had to contact the manufacturer twice regarding issues with the door and both times they exceeded my expectations with their service.

David Altekruse
Door Type:
Wall Mount
March 12, 2013

Rugged Weather-Tight Well-Designed Doggie Door

We installed this Freedom Pet Pass small dog wall door in early September 2012. It has worked very well for us and is everything the manufacturer claims. It really is air tight and closes securely every time. The design allows for a lot of installation flexibility so you can match your existing home interior and exterior. I decided to hire someone to install it. He took one look at the unit and said, "piece of cake". It took him less than two hours to cut the hole, frame, install, trim, and paint it. The door appears to be well designed and ruggedly built, especially compared to other dog doors I've seen. I have no trouble believing that it will last for years. It is wonderful that our dog can now go to the back yard whenever he wants without our having to either leave the back door open (not the most energy efficient or bug free option) or open and close the door for him.

On the minus side, the door came with no instructions. (I'm not sure if that was a shipping issue or if they really don't ship with instructions.) The manufacturer's web site had minimal instructions. More detailed help can be found from customer reviews and tutorials. I printed out everything I could find for my installer. However, he only needed the installation dimensions.

There is one downside to this door's design. It takes about twice the effort for a pet to open the door when going outside than it does going inside. If you look at the outside picture of this door (included at this Amazon page at the time I submitted this review) you can see the tan door flap which swings both in and out. It looks like it has a black frame around it. Actually, that black frame is a second flap which only swings out. Its purpose is to prevent air and rain from getting through the sides of the tan flap and it does a very good job of this. However, when a pet goes out of the house he has to move both the tan flap and the black seal. This is a challenge for my small 12 pound dog. He has no problem coming into the house but he struggles going out. Our dog quickly learned to come into the house but it took us over a month to train him to go out. He apparently doesn't like to push the door open with his head. Instead, he paws at the door. When it opens he keeps pawing at it to keep it open but it usually takes him many tries before he succeeds. I've seen him take over a minute to get out of the house.

Everything considered, we are very happy with this Freedom Pet Pass door.

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Door Mount
February 21, 2013

Great

LOve the dog door.....absolutely fabulous

John D. Lee
Door Type:
Wall Mount
February 8, 2013

Wonderful dog door

I chose this product because our old door alloowed too much heat and air conditioning loss. Door is very sturdy and well made. A little expensive when compared to a standard dog door but I think I'll recoup the money in utility savings.

Kathleen
Door Type:
Door Mount
January 7, 2013

It Really Works

Once I installed this door, it took a few days for my dogs to get used to the fact that the door was not clear. Once they did, they had no issues using it. It has been very windy here in Dallas, and cold (for us). Even with that, I can stand next to the dog door and I can't even feel the cold. In the past, the old plastic dog door would get cold, it would harden, get stuck, and cold air would just pour in to my house, with this door, no longer! I highly recommend this door.

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
December 29, 2012

Freedom Pet Pass Door Survives -40 C

I purchased your large wall mount pet door in October of this year. Got it installed in November. It is working really well. My German Shepherd, Lady Boo zooms in and out with no problem. Her goal in last few days is trying to bring a long tree branch into the house. Hopefully she won't figure it out! So far we have had some extreme weather, with the temp getting to as cold as -40 degrees Celsius for 2 or 3 days and nites in a row. I have not had any problems, just a small amount of frost forming on the bottom of the flap inside. I use a hair dryer to melt the frost, and clear up the moisture and fur with a paper towel. Haven't noticed any drafts. So far so good. I was wondering if you sold the flap separately? (Just in case this one should fail to function after normal wear and tear). I am just thinking ahead.

editors note: we do sell spare parts, though they are rarely needed

Default Avatar75
Door Type:
Wall Mount
December 29, 2012

Doggie door that actually seals

Hi. We got our dog door. All I can say is just how much we love it. The other dog door made so much noise every time the dogs went in and out. Also, the area around the old dog door was really cold in the winter. I can only imagine how much heating and cooling we lost with the old door. I really wish I had found your dog door before I purchased what I was told was a dog door that sealed. The only thing that was a draw back but not really was the size of the door. It really was bigger than 11 by 17. We are fine with that just had to enlarge our opening a bit. Just want to tell you again how happy we found your website and found that door. Love, love, love it! Thank-you for getting it here so fast.

Freedom Pet Pass note: the 11'' x 17'' measurement for our large is the pet opening, which is the smallest opening through which your pet goes. This is the important opening for determining which size your pet needs. The rough opening size, used for cutting the hole in your door or wall, is larger to accommodate the frame.

alcimedes
Door Type:
Wall Mount
December 23, 2012

Unbelievable difference

So this dog door was an upgrade after our previous unit had about 5 years of wear on it. The old unit had a standard metal frame, and was a 'large breed' dog door.

In MN, in our winters, it wouldn't be unusual to have ice forming on the interior of the old dog door, and water condensing/dripping onto the floor due to the temperature differences. The closet where the old door was located was significantly colder than the rest of the house.

Today though was the last day of weather over 20 degrees before a weeks worth of near zero temps, so I decided to do the installation now rather than wait, and boy am I glad that I did.

A huge reason this door works so much better than other models I've tried are due to the door materials used. The frame is some kind of low heat transfer material, and the door flaps (2) are both made of a thick material that has virtually no heat transfer.

By having two flaps instead of the typical single flap, the flaps are able to seal with each other, ensuring an air tight seal every time.

I had to reframe the top of the old opening, but the sides fit perfectly. Once framing and sealing the door with exterior caulk, I noticed a massive, immediate improvement in the temp in the room. I filled in the small gaps and we went out for dinner.

Came back two hours later and the closet is noticeably warmer than it has been in the past. I wish I'd gotten this door years ago.

The two dogs figured out the new door in about a minute.

edit: I just wanted to update my post after going through the coldest months of a Minnesota winter. We had days where it was easily -20 F with 30+ MPH winds, and you couldn't even feel a whisper of outside air when standing next to this dog door. Unbelievable how much better this is than our other dog doors were. I'd thought perhaps with enough wind or when it got cold enough I'd start to find where this door no longer excels, but it hasn't happened yet.

The only thing I can say that I might not like about this door is that the old dog doors had transparent flaps, and I liked that it let light into the room where the dog door was located. I wouldn't dream of trading that for no weather proofing though, but I had to come up with something about this product that wasn't perfect so I don't come off sounding like a shill.

edit: Just updating. Two years later, still loving the door. We had a 10 year cold snap this year, and I happened to have a thermal gun handy. Will include a short video review, but the gist of it is the door temp was a solid 3º - 4º C (40ºF) , while outside the flap it was -26º C. (-15ºF) so a difference of over 50º. My old dog door would get moisture around it any time it was a few degrees below freezing, and ice inside when it was below 0º F, so this is a major improvement.

This video contains shots from two different days. One day when it was -29ºC and one day where it was a more typical -10º C.

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
November 30, 2012

Beat Hurricane Sandy

I live on Eastern Long Island where we had high winds due to Hurricane Sandy. I purchased a dog door from your company in August and had it installed into the side of my house. During the entire storm the door flap did not even shimmy in the slightest! I am so happy at the efficiency of this product and will highly recommend to anyone who has a pet. Thank you for a quality product as well as stellar customer service.

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
November 16, 2012

So Much Better!

Our handy guy came today and installed the door. We had a few issues structurally, but with our house, not the dog door. The dogs were used to having a dog door, so it will be an easy transition, although the fact that it's a bit harder for them to push open will just be something they will need to get used to. Our older dog definitely has it down and it's only been about 2 hours since our guy left. The younger dog will have it by tomorrow as long as he keeps watching the older dog. We were both remarking at what a difference it's already making in our walk out basement, no draft, and already a whole lot warmer! Thanks so much, we look forward to our dogs using it for years to come and for us staying warm!

Ken Haggett
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
October 31, 2012

Good morning Brian, I just finished installing my new; large Freedom Pass dog door and am very happy with the way it came out. Your product seems to be very well made and it looks like it will hold up for many years to come. I appreciate the time you took to speak with me about the door when I called you a couple of months ago. Your taking the time to do that is what persuaded me to order your product and I have no regrets. I’ve attached a photo of the door installed in our wall with hickory and mahogany trim. I made a ¼ panel that slides into the mahogany strips to close the door. Ken Haggett - Peace Pups Dogsledding Lake Elmore, Vermont

Peacepup dogsled tour with Heron and Umiak in lead

Peacepup dogsled tour with Heron and Umiak in lead

FPP door with custom hickory and mahogany trim

FPP door with custom hickory and mahogany trim

Default Avatar75
Door Type:
Wall Mount
October 25, 2012

Dog Door Beats the Heat!

I have been meaning to email you as we have had this awesome pet door in for a big part of our summer and love that it keeps out the heat. We have only noticed one problem and that is the boys, Einstein and Ziggy often enjoy just looking out it. Lol. Thank you so much for this door.

Jack Scott Dorr
Door Type:
Door Mount
September 10, 2012

Great weather proof door. Love it!

We originally purchased this door for our home in Maine and are now using the same one in Colorado. Our pair of Malamutes run in and out of this thing many, many times a day.

It's a sturdy, great quality pet door that does a fantastic job of keeping the weather outside. We've used other doors that you purchase at big box pet stores, but those weren't much better than a loose flap hanging in your door. This product, however, is absolutely worth the money.

Their customer service is great, too. I had a minor issue with my door after my 85 lb Malamute stepped on the flap while it was open. I emailed Brian. 15 minutes later he emailed me back with his phone number. I had him on the phone and in minutes had my problem solved. If I ever need a second pet door, it'll be one of these.

gilliguin
Door Type:
Door Mount
March 26, 2012

Did NOT want to pay this much for a dog door

I was skeptical but now I don't know how I lived without it. I have two 5 yr old black labs and as active as they are this is a must, now they can just run outside whenever they want to. I also have one 12 yr old dog who has trouble walking and I didn't like holding the door open for her as she takes a minute to walk up 2 stairs to get inside (and in the winter I was letting a door full of heat out) but even she uses the door, this is a life-saver.

I was also skeptical of the seal when I saw the leaf blower demo, but it is a tight seal (as evidenced by the rather loud magnetic clap as it closes, and this never gets stuck halfway closed like I thought it might) and I put my hand around the inside of the door when it was 26 degrees out and it felt just like the rest of the room. very pleased with the product...although you can get free shipping if you go through their own web site vs Amazon

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
February 13, 2012

Great Customer Service!

------- editor's note: this testimonial was received after we resolved an issue that this customer was having with installation -------

...that just confirms everything I've told everyone about Freedom Pet Pass and the company. We love your product and have always received excellent service. This just takes that service to another level. You guys are fantastic. We always make sure to spread the word about your doggy doors anytime we hear of someone looking into one or questioning one. We are convinced you make the best dog door out there and we can also say that you offer far superior service.

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
February 4, 2012

Cat Door Replacement

We're sending some pictures of our project. We tore out the old, leaky cat door and replaced it with a Freedom Pet Pass door. All this work for his majesty Williecat. He goes in and out and loves it! Thank you kids for a fine door and for making this cat one happy guy.

His Majesty, Williecat

His Majesty, Williecat

My beloved carpenter / husband Clyde

My beloved carpenter / husband Clyde

The old door from the outside with brushes at the side and bottom that get full of hair. It is a double door setup with limited magnets at the corners that do nothing to keep the doors closed in high winds.

The old door from the outside with brushes at the side and bottom that get full of hair. It is a double door setup with limited magnets at the corners that do nothing to keep the doors closed in high winds.

New Freedom Pet Pass Door, fully installed

New Freedom Pet Pass Door, fully installed

Default Avatar75
Door Type:
Wall Mount
January 24, 2012

Best Doggie Door for Down Under

Last year I purchased the Large Locking Pet Pass Dog Door for the wall, and was really impressed with the attention I received that enabled me to make choices and have it sent to Australia. After xmas I managed to get some time and installed the door myself. To do it myself took overall about 1 week, but only 2 days to have the door installed and secure, the rest was to finish off, paint etc. What a great product, no more drafts coming into my home, my dogs quickly adapted and used the door and even better, this door my large Lab Trixie cannot crash her way through. Thanks again for your professionalism and assistance.

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
January 16, 2012

Love the insulated cat flap!

Writing this from Loveland Colorado! Want you to know that you have an excellent pet door. We have installed one at our house in town and it does NOT leak outside air. Fact of the matter is that the temperature on the room side is the same as the room be it winter or summer! We have NEVER found it other than perfectly closed and sealed. Our cat has made a game of going in and out. It is installed on the north side of the house which is the coldest side. We are planning on installing a second one at our mountain house on the west side, the side that the winds hit us on from the Big Thompson Canyon. We have absolute confidence in this product for that high wind application. We have hurricane force winds here in the Colorado mountains and have personally experienced over 100 mph winds. The old double flap cat door is not at all adequate and lacks the insulating properties of the Freedom Pass Door. When the wind storms come we stuff foam in the old door but when the new Freedom Pass Door goes in we can forget about having to do that! Freedom for us and freedom for the cat. So if you are considering purchasing this product just do it! It is quality through and through and is built to last and protect your home from heat, cold and wind.

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Door Mount
December 13, 2011

Greetings from Russia

Thank you very much for nice product and service. The door is already installed and dog is using it right away.

liberty1400
Door Type:
Door Mount
October 29, 2011

Best Pet Door Ever!

I purchased this door for my two 10-lbs Chihuahuas. I hired someone to install it, since I wanted it to go through the wall of our home onto the deck outside. I spoke with Brian at FreedomPetPass and he was very patient and answered all of my questions. After our phone call, I ordered the door and it was at my house three days later. Once it was installed, my two 10-pound Chihuahuas were a little skeptical at first, but within two days they seemed to warm up to it. They were already trained to use a doggy door, but the door they used was transparent, so I was a little concerned. I adjusted it to make it slightly easier for them to go in and out at first, but I put it back to full strength and they didn't even notice! They use their new door with no problem, and I am happy because the wind no longer blows the door open. What a wonderful product! Thank you so much.

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
July 16, 2011

Moving, needed another

We moved to a new house and had to leave our old Freedom Pet Pass door there...I ordered another for the new house and finished the install today. Once again, thanks so much. Your dog doors are, hands down, the best made and the easiest to install. The one we left at the old house was as good as new (even though it was 3 or 4 years old) and had been used by 2 to 4 dogs for years (german shorthair pointers). This time the door is on the windward side of the house but having experience with your doors, I know it will not be affected by the wind and rain. I recommend your doors whenever possible.

A. K. Sholl
Door Type:
Door Mount
July 1, 2011

You can't live without it

i know this seems like a ridiculous amount of money to spend on a dog door (and seriously, they are REAL PROUD of these things), but i am not kidding you, this is one of the best purchases i ever made. i have had it for almost 2 years now with my very energetic golden retriever and beagle, and it still looks and performs like brand new (needs to be wiped clean occasionally). it seals TIGHT... no air is getting past this thing. and even the hardest wind has never blown it open.
the locking door is super easy to put on - you dont have to try to slide it perfectly straight into little side grooves.
it's also relatively quiet. it "snaps" shut, but i've had doors in the past that would swing back and forth 4 or 5 times before finally settling into place.
the only problem i've had is that it's not clear (see-through), so my dogs would stick their heads through it and just look around to see what's going on on the other side of the door... not very energy efficient when it's being held open by a dog's head! but with some training, they've learned pretty well to stop doing that. and i do worry a little about head-on collisions since they both run through it at 90 mph. if one of them is coming in and the other is going out (or standing there in front of it), someone is liable to get knocked out cold.
it's expensive, but i don't think i will EVER need to replace ANY part of it. (other vinyl and plastic doors i tried had to be replaced every couple of years)

Quick update: been almost 6 years and it still works perfectly. No leaks, never had to repair or replace any part of it.

Guy Stryder
Door Type:
Wall Mount
June 26, 2011

There is no better door for energy efficiency

I am an energy auditor, so when I began searching for dog doors and eventually found this one, I was intrigued. Well, I did my research and finally bought it and am well impressed. True, it is a little tougher, initially, to push open but not too tough for my medium sized dog to manage. More importantly though, the air seal is fantastic. What a simple yet extremely clever solution to the eternal drafty pet door problem.

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
June 6, 2011

This door is heavy-duty like Fort Knox

I usually don’t write letters about products, but in this case I had to. I have had dog doors for 30 years and have never been so pleased with a product. I recently purchased your large door for my pack and I mean pack, German Shepherd, Rottweiler, Boxer, Labrador, and Boston Terrier. As I live in the country, in Alberta Canada, I have always had problems with weather as in wind and the bugs in the summer and cold as well as wind in the winter with all the previous doors. Not with this one. My husband has nicknamed the Freedom door, “Fort Knox”. It is absolutely air tight and looks great. I can’t say enough good things about it and is worth every penny. It is so nice to purchase an item online, get great customer service as well as the product as advertised. I‘ve recommended your door to everyone that I know who needs a pet door.

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Wall Mount
April 12, 2011

Real Energy Efficiency

Four generations of my family have endured jokes about the wind in the valley we call home. This winter has been especially blustery and drafts coming thhrough our old dog door could be felt two rooms away. I hated to spend so much on a new dog door from a manufacturer I had never heard of but the Freedom Pet Pass lives up to every claim on the website. It seals tightly and I have not seen or felt the wind open it yet our miniature schnauzer navigates through it with ease. It is a very well made product with a great design and is worth every penny. Finally our dog door is a match for the extra insulation, Energy Star Windows, compact fluorescent lighting and ground source heat pump we have installed to improve our energy efficiency. I recommend it without reservation.

Default Avatar75
Factory Direct
Door Type:
Door Mount
March 26, 2011

Weatherproof!

I wanted to share -- I love the pet door I ordered from Freedom Pet Pass. The door is so much better than the one I had before (2 see-thru flaps with magnets at the bottom). You advertisement is right on target - no wind or rain is coming in through your door! Thank you for such a wonderful product. I'm recommending it to several others I know who have thought about installing a dog door!