Dog Cat Door Reviews

Dog Door and Cat Door Reviews

We get lots of emails from happy customers. Many have tried other pet doors and are relieved to have found one that actually lives up to its promises. Some of our customers have written to share their top-notch customizations. Others just want to show us pictures of their pets enjoying their new-found freedom. We love them all! Please keep them coming!

Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 10/01/2014
We (Dogs) love the pet pass wall door. We ordinarily just have two Cocker Spaniels that use the door until recently. Our Border Collie had a front leg amputated is temporally indoors. She has no problem using the door that is actually a little too small for her. Amazing that she can learn so fast to walk on three legs and maneuver the pet door. A good testament for the ease of use for your door. Very durable, and wind and weather proof!! After scanning the web for quality doors I found and chose your product. So happy I did!!! Thanks for your prompt service.
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 10/08/2014
Hello! The door was delivered in a timely manner and my neighbor, who is a handy-man, was able to install if for me in less than an hour! My beastie boyz love having their dog door back and the timing was perfect now that the weather is getting colder!
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 09/26/2014
5 / 5 stars
Lucy loves her Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Lucy
Description
Freedom Pet Pass Cat Door
Date Published: 04/07/2014
Hi, I just had to write to say how immensely pleased we are by the cat door you sold to us. We are in an exposed position on the coast where we receive lots of south westerly winds accompanied by rain. I have fitted several different cat flaps in the past but most of them were expensive rubbish. Either the cats broke them or the wind and rain came in and soaked the floor. Now I have fitted your cat door my kitchen is warmer and my oak floor is no longer being damaged by rain. We are really impressed by your product. I would strongly recommend that you market your product in the U.K.
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 01/24/2012
Last year I purchased the Large Locking Pet Pass Dog Door for the wall, and was really impressed with the attention I received that enabled me to make choices and have it sent to Australia. After xmas I managed to get some time and installed the door myself. To do it myself took overall about 1 week, but only 2 days to have the door installed and secure, the rest was to finish off, paint etc. What a great product, no more drafts coming into my home, my dogs quickly adapted and used the door and even better, this door my large Lab Trixie cannot crash her way through. Thanks again for your professionalism and assistance.
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 12/29/2013
This is the ultimate pet door and worth every cent. It's never opened under high winds or let in any rain or snow. It`s super easy to install and looks good. It`s the only door that should be considered and it will be the last you`ll need to install. Great work, guys and thanks a bunch.
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 12/28/2013
Hi, I purchased a door earlier this year based on the hope that it would hold up to the harsh Fairbanks winters. So far we have seen temperatures drop to -47 degrees Fahrenheit and there's no draft! A little frost forms from my dogs going in and out, but it is just amazing! A severe wind storm took out some trees in our yard and blew open an attic hatch that was NAILED in, but the darn dog door didn't budge. Thank you for making such a great product!
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 10/25/2012
I have been meaning to email you as we have had this awesome pet door in for a big part of our summer and love that it keeps out the heat. We have only noticed one problem and that is the boys, Einstein and Ziggy often enjoy just looking out it. Lol. Thank you so much for this door.
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 12/29/2012
Hi. We got our dog door. All I can say is just how much we love it. The other dog door made so much noise every time the dogs went in and out. Also, the area around the old dog door was really cold in the winter. I can only imagine how much heating and cooling we lost with the old door. I really wish I had found your dog door before I purchased what I was told was a dog door that sealed. The only thing that was a draw back but not really was the size of the door. It really was bigger than 11 by 17. We are fine with that just had to enlarge our opening a bit. Just want to tell you again how happy we found your website and found that door. Love, love, love it! Thank-you for getting it here so fast.
4.5 / 5 stars
Sled Dog Door
FPP door with custom hickory and mahogany trim
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 10/31/2012
Good morning Brian, I just finished installing my new; large Freedom Pass dog door and am very happy with the way it came out. Your product seems to be very well made and it looks like it will hold up for many years to come. I appreciate the time you took to speak with me about the door when I called you a couple of months ago. Your taking the time to do that is what persuaded me to order your product and I have no regrets. I’ve attached a photo of the door installed in our wall with hickory and mahogany trim. I made a ¼ panel that slides into the mahogany strips to close the door. Ken Haggett Peace Pups Dogsledding Lake Elmore, Vermont
5 / 5 stars
Peacepups Dogsled
Peacepup dogsled tour with Heron and Umiak in lead
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 12/29/2012
I purchased your large wall mount pet door in October of this year. Got it installed in November. It is working really well. My German Shepherd, Lady Boo zooms in and out with no problem. Her goal in last few days is trying to bring a long tree branch into the house. Hopefully she won't figure it out! So far we have had some extreme weather, with the temp getting to as cold as -40 degrees Celsius for 2 or 3 days and nites in a row. I have not had any problems, just a small amount of frost forming on the bottom of the flap inside. I use a hair dryer to melt the frost, and clear up the moisture and fur with a paper towel. Haven't noticed any drafts. So far so good. I was wondering if you sold the flap separately? (Just in case this one should fail to function after normal wear and tear). I am just thinking ahead. (editors note: we do sell spare parts, though they are rarely needed)
5 / 5 stars
Energy efficient dog door
Date Published: 04/12/2011
Four generations of my family have endured jokes about the wind in the valley we call home. This winter has been especially blustery and drafts coming thhrough our old dog door could be felt two rooms away. I hated to spend so much on a new dog door from a manufacturer I had never heard of but the Freedom Pet Pass lives up to every claim on the website. It seals tightly and I have not seen or felt the wind open it yet our miniature schnauzer navigates through it with ease. It is a very well made product with a great design and is worth every penny. Finally our dog door is a match for the extra insullation, Energy Star Windows, compact fluroescent lighting and ground source heat pump we have installed to improve our energy efficiency. I recommend it without reservation.
5 / 5 stars
Williecat Loves Cat Door
His Majesty Williecat
Freedom Pet Pass Cat Door
Date Published: 02/04/2012
We're sending some pictures of our project. We tore out the old, leaky cat door and replaced it with a Freedom Pet Pass door. All this work for his majesty Williecat. He goes in and out and loves it! Thank you kids for a fine door and for making this cat one happy guy.
5 / 5 stars
Carpenter Clyde
My beloved live in carpenter/husband Clyde!
Old Leaky Cat Door
The old door from the outside with brushes at the side and bottom that get full of hair. It is a double door setup with limited magnets at the corners that do nothing to keep the doors closed in high winds.
Tear-Out Cat Door
Tear out from the outside...
Pet Door Trim
Trimming out the opening
Finished Cat Door
New Freedom Pet Pass door, fully installed!
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 12/06/2011
Just wanted to drop a note to say we LOVE our Freedom Pet Pass door - we installed it in June 2011 and it is still going strong. Absolutely love it. We've actually got a piece of foamboard insulation that we put in the opening at night instead of the locking door, which makes it warmer than the wall it's in. Go figure. Thank you so much and best regards.
5 / 5 stars
Energy efficient dog doors
Dog Door - Freedom Pet Pass
Date Published: 03/26/2011
I wanted to share -- I love the pet door I ordered from Freedom Pet Pass. The door is so much better than the one I had before (2 see-thru flaps with magnets at the bottom). You advertisement is right on target - no wind or rain is coming in through your door! Thank you for such a wonderful product. I'm recommending it to several others I know who have thought about installing a dog door!
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 10/31/2012
I live on Eastern Long Island where we had high winds due to Hurricane Sandy. I purchased a dog door from your company in August and had it installed into the side of my house. During the entire storm the door flap did not even shimmy in the slightest! I am so happy at the efficiency of this product and will highly recommend to anyone who has a pet. Thank you for a quality product as well as stellar customer service.
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 02/13/2012
------- editor's note: this testimonial was received after we resolved an issue that this customer was having with installation ------- '...That just confirms everything I've told everyone about Freedom Pet Pass and the company. We love your product and have always received excellent service. This just takes that service to another level. You guys are fantastic. We alway make sure to spread the word about your doggy doors anytime we hear of someone looking into one or questioning one. We are convinced you make the best dog door out there and we can also say that you offer far superior service.'
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Cat Door
Date Published: 01/16/2012
Writing this from Loveland Colorado! Want you to know that you have an excellent pet door. We have installed one at our house in town and it does NOT leak outside air. Fact of the matter is that the temperature on the room side is the same as the room be it winter or summer! We have NEVER found it other than perfectly closed and sealed. Our cat has made a game of going in and out. It is installed on the north side of the house which is the coldest side. We are planning on installing a second one at our mountain house on the west side, the side that the winds hit us on from the Big Thompson Canyon. We have absolute confidence in this product for that high wind application. We have hurricane force winds here in the Colorado mountains and have personally experienced over 100 mph winds. The old double flap cat door is not at all adequate and lacks the insulating properties of the Freedom Pass Door. When the wind storms come we stuff foam in the old door but when the new Freedom Pass Door goes in we can forget about having to do that! Freedom for us and freedom for the cat. So if you are considering purchasing this product just do it! It is quality through and through and is built to last and protect your home from heat, cold and wind.
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 06/16/2011
I usually don’t write letters about products, but in this case I had to. I have had dog doors for 30 years and have never been so pleased with a product. I recently purchased your large door for my pack and I mean pack, German Shepherd, Rottweiler, Boxer, Labrador, and Boston Terrier. As I live in the country, in Alberta Canada, I have always had problems with weather as in wind and the bugs in the summer and cold as well as wind in the winter with all the previous doors. Not with this one. My husband has nicknamed the Freedom door, “Fort Knox”. It is absolutely air tight and looks great. I can’t say enough good things about it and is worth every penny. It is so nice to purchase an item online, get great customer service as well as the product as advertised. I‘ve recommended your door to everyone that I know who needs a pet door.
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 07/16/2011
We moved to a new house and had to leave our old Freedom Pet Pass door there...I ordered another for the new house and finished the install today. Once again, thanks so much. Your dog doors are, hands down, the best made and the easiest to install. The one we left at the old house was as good as new (even though it was 3 or 4 years old) and had been used by 2 to 4 dogs for years (german shorthair pointers). This time the door is on the windward side of the house but having experience with your doors, I know it will not be affected by the wind and rain. I recommend your doors whenever possible.
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 06/25/2013
Just wanted to drop a note to say we LOVE our Freedom Pet Pass door - we installed it in June 2011 and it is still going strong. Absolutely love it. We've actually got a piece of foamboard insulation that we put in the opening at night instead of the locking door, which makes it warmer than the wall it's in. Go figure.
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 12/13/2011
Thank you very much for nice product and service. The door is already installed and dog is using it right away.
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 02/21/2013
LOve the dog door.....absolutely fabulous
5 / 5 stars
Freedom Pet Pass Dog Door
Date Published: 11/16/2012
Our handy guy came today and installed the door. We had a few issues structurally, but with our house, not the dog door. The dogs were used to having a dog door, so it will be an easy transition, although the fact that it's a bit harder for them to push open will just be something they will need to get used to. Our older dog definitely has it down and it's only been about 2 hours since our guy left. The younger dog will have it by tomorrow as long as he keeps watching the older dog. We were both remarking at what a difference it's already making in our walk out basement, no draft, and already a whole lot warmer! Thanks so much, we look forward to our dogs using it for years to come and for us staying warm!
5 / 5 stars